Gowry … గౌరీ సదనం

March 1, 2007

Alu Broccoli Pacchadi – my entry for Jihva for Potato

Filed under: Pickles — Gowry @ 11:44 pm, Thursday, March 1, 2007

I am a new blogger and came across this event in the food blogs this past weekend. Started and moderated by Indira of Mahanandi. This month’s event is being hosted by Vaishali Kamath of Happy Burp. February being a short month, March 1st arrived faster than I expected. I am working on a patch that should go out for taking care of the new Daylight Savings dates for our application. I looked at the calendar this morning to see how much time I had left, and awww.. today is first already. And then I remembered that it is also the posting day for Jihva. We are not that big of a potato lovers – actually, steer clear of the vegetable except on our Puri-Saturdays; which comes once in three months or so. Too starchy for our palates, I guess.

I came home, bathed and fed DD and DS. Still could not take this event out of my head. I marched into the kitchen and lucky for me, found a small potato in my onion basket. The only thing that came to my mind is pickle. My grandmother (అమ్మమ్మ) makes pickles out of practically any vegetable. She was the one who introduced this pickle to me 22 years ago. I usually make this for parties and it goes pretty fast. Sour, salty and fiery with spice kick of red chilli powder. You would not believe that it is the same starchy vegetable that kicks up your metabolism now. Because, I haven’t seen anybody stop with just a couple of pieces of this pacchadi.

I sometimes add carrot or cauliflower to this pacchadi. Tonight, I have neither. But, I found a super small crown of broccoli left in the fridge, from making quesadillas last week. Hurray!

Bangaladumpa broccoli pacchadi

Recipe:
1 small potato
1 small crown of broccoli
2 garlic cloves
1/2 tsp powder of roasted fenugreek seeds/మెంతి పిండి
1 table sp chilli powder or to taste
1 tea spoon salt
1/8 tsp turmeric powder
Juice of half a lime
Urad dal, channa dal, mustard seeds, cumin, curry leaves and a table spoon oil for tempering.

Potato, broccoli, garlic, methi powder, chilli powder and salt

Pick potato(es) that are fresh and firm and without bruises. Wash both the vegetables. Peel, if using russet potato, else leave the skin on. That ensures that alu pieces retain the crunch even after a couple of days. Cut alu into small pieces and broccoli into small florets. Crush the garlic cloves with fenugreek/methi powder/మెంతి పిండి.  The aroma of garlic and the other spices took me back to the summer months in India when I used to help my mother make mango pickle. That made me even more hungry. Add rest of the ingredients, mix well and set aside for a few hours. Over night is usually good. Pickled vegetables soak up the lime juice, salt and other spices by the next day. Tempering is always the last step in the case of pickles, dals or pulusulu/vegetables stews. Just before serving, heat oil in a sauce pan, add dals, mustard and cumin seeds. When they start to crackle, add curry leaves, cover the sauce pan and turn off the stove. Covering ensure less mess around the stove and less greasy hood filters.  I usually use a small sauce pan for seasoning (పోపు గిన్నె) rather than the cute seasoning pans we get in India because, sauce pan is much deeper and more vertical. Less splatters and my grates stay cleaner longer. Also,  it doesn’t wobble like the cutie one. After it cools down a bit, add to the pickle and enjoy with steaming rice. I like this best with curd rice. Smack!

I personally think that Alu-cauliflower pacchadi tastes better than Alu-broccoli; cannot beat that combination. Broccoli florets seem to turn limp after 24 hours. Not so with cauliflower. They stay crisp longer and really pickle good. So does carrot.

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much for your entry, Gowry. This pickle is indeed unique. I hope I manage to try it out some day.

    Comment by Vaishali — March 14, 2007 @ 4:13 am, Wednesday, March 14, 2007

  2. Tooooooooooooo good

    Comment by cynthia dsilva — April 4, 2007 @ 11:10 pm, Wednesday, April 4, 2007


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

